When There Are Tough Times

Sometimes it would be easier to just give up when you hit a bump in the road, but where is the reward in that? When things are easy, the pay off isn’t nearly as great and if you give up, you run the risk of missing out on something wonderful had you stuck it out.

The trick is knowing when giving up or sticking it out is the right thing to do. I don’t think it would be surprising to anyone to hear that Sir and I have had our share of struggles. I don’t think there is a single relationship out there that is perfect. Any time you get more than on set of opinions, ideals, or expectations together, there will be conflict. What matters isn’t the fact that conflict exists, but instead what you do with that conflict and whether or not you learn from it.

The best arguments and misunderstandings are the ones that bring you closer together and actually strengthen the bonds and trust you share. Not that any argument is “good” just that arguments can offer something for each partner if they are willing to learn.

It’s interesting to talk about arguing and such in the context of D/s because I think some people believe that if the Dom is in charge, then surely there won’t be a disagreement. I guess that could be the case in some instances, but in reality, a submissive…even one who identifies as a slave…still has free will and he/she can choose whether or not to exercise that will or not.

The point I’m trying to make is, don’t give up. Take some time to calm down and let the initial emotions of the moment subside, then go back and talk rationally about what’s going on. Make the effort and things will work out. It’s all about discussion and compromise. But don’t be afraid to do the what’s right if that means it’s time to move on. Right now, I know in my heart that it’s not time to move on, so I will fight with all that I have. My Sir makes me happy and His love and loyalty to me make me want to serve Him and make him happy. 

2 comments on “When There Are Tough Times

  1. thegirlpashn says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only submissive that goes through tough times. Thank you for writing this!

Leave a Reply

